TSF 2016 Dayton DPOY: Kobe Vinegar

Trotwood-Madison senior linebacker Kobe Vinegar was named the 2016 Dayton Defensive Player of the Year as TSF paid tribute to finest from Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky, Dayton and Southeast Indiana area’s high school gridiron at the Year in Review Show on Monday night at the Holy Grail, downtown Cincinnati.

Trotwood-Madison LB Kobe Vinegar (photo by Mike Noyes/

Trotwood-Madison LB Kobe Vinegar (photo by Mike Noyes/

The relentless Vinegar was named DIII First Team All-Ohio and GWOC American South Defensive Player of the Year for the 12-3 state runner-up Rams. The Trotwood-Madison defense gave up only 10.7 points per contest including just 8.6 per game during the regular season. He tallied 138 total tackles (79 solo), three-and-a-half sacks, forced four fumbles, recovered three fumbles and returned two of those for touchdowns. He will continue his career at West Virginia Wesleyan.

Other finalists included five seniors – Mikey’ion Hunter (Trotwood-Madison), Jack Knipper (Beavercreek), Chris Meyers (Miamisburg), David Rueth (Alter), Matt Wilcox (Wayne) and junior Alex Reigelsperger (Wayne). was founded in 2005 and started its postseason player awards for Dayton in 2009. Here is the list of winners of this award all-time:

2016 – Kobe Vinegar (Trotwood-Madison)
2015 – Tobias Gilliam (Wayne)
2014 – Kei Beckham (Trotwood-Madison)
2013 – Vayante Copeland (Thurgood Marshall)
2012 – Mike McCray (Trotwood-Madison)
2011 – Mike McCray (Trotwood-Madison)
2010 – Trey DePriest (Springfield)
2009 – Cody Byers (Alter)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply