CCPA QB Smith Named Division VII SW District OPOY

CCPA QB Mark Smith, the OPSWA Division VII Southwest District OPOY (photo courtesy of CCPA)

It was a breakout year for Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy (8-3). The Lions set a school record for wins and made their first ever playoff appearance. CCPA went 0-9 in 2018 and won eight games this fall, a feat that has rarely, if ever, happened in Ohio gridiron history.

The energy that kept the Lions heart purring was quarterback, Mark Smith. The sophomore threw for 1,803 yards, ran for 1,081 yards and accounted for 30 touchdowns (18 pass, 12 rush) in nine regular season games. That effort has earned him, 2019 OPSWA Division VII Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year honors. Smith also had 34 total tackles and five interceptions for the CCPA defense.

“If it was up to Mark, no one would know he was named player of the year. He is such a quiet, humble kid,” Lions head coach Jeremy Pflug says of his star pupil, Smith. Senior teammate Antonio Hammond was also named All-District after catching 49 passes for 1,007 yards and nine touchdowns.

Jesse Hubbard of New Miami was named Coach of the Year. He led the the Vikings to their first-ever 10-0 season and #1 seed in the playoffs.

The 2019 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division VII football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:


First Team Offense
Backfield: Kale Long, DeGraff Riverside, 5 feet 11, 195 pounds, junior, QB; Collin Moore, Fort Loramie, 6-0; 210, jr., QB; Trey Robinette, Hamilton New Miami, 5-8, 190, jr., QB; Alex Scholl, Mississinawa Valley, 5-10, 180, sr., RB; Mark Smith, Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy, 6-1, 160, so., QB; Reece Stammen, Ansonia, 5-11, 205, jr., RB; Dylan Stinson, Lewisburg Tri-County North, 6-3, 160, jr., QB.
Receivers: Nick Brandewie; Fort Loramie; 6-2; 210, sr.; Deanza Duncan, Hamilton New Miami, 5-8, 160, jr.; Antonio Hammond, Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy, 6-2, 170, sr.; Brendan O’Leary, Sidney Lehman Catholic, 6-1, 170, sr.; Austin Sanders, South Charleston Southeastern Local, 6-1, 175, sr.; Josh Scantland, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-3, 170, so.
Linemen: Ethan Burrows, DeGraff Riverside, 5-10, 185, jr.; Austin Helmke, Ansonia, 6-1, 275, sr.; Blake Holthaus, Fort Loramie, 6-1, 230, sr.; Josh Pangilinan, Fort Loramie, 5-8, 240, sr.; Connor Stewart, Sidney Lehman Catholic, 6-4, 260, jr.
Kicker: Ethan Potts, Sidney Lehman Catholic, 5-11, 165, sr.

First Team Defense
Linemen: Cody Dirksen, Mississinawa Valley, 6-0, 210, sr.; Dylan Finkbine, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-3, 177, jr.; Mack Fortman, Fort Loramie, 6-2, 265, jr.; Alex Hicks, Lockland, 6-1, 310, sr.
Linebackers: Max Dirmeyer, Mississinawa Valley, 5-8, 160, sr.; John Edwards, Sidney Lehman Catholic, 5-10, 185, so.; Cody Eyer, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-10, 180, sr.; Trey Godfrey, Mississinawa Valley, 5-11, 235, jr.; Noah Guillozet, Fort Loramie, 5-10, 185, sr.; Max Hoying, Fort Loramie, 5-11, 200, jr.; Hayden McKee, South Charleston Southeastern Local, 6-1, 205, sr.; Dylan Spivey, Hamilton New Miami, 5-10, 200, jr.
Secondary: Drew Barhorst, Sidney Lehman Catholic, 6-0, 175, sr.; Payton Pugh, St. Bernard-Elmwood Place, 5-9, 175, sr.; Layne Sarver, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-4, 170, so.; Blake Scholl, Mississinawa Valley, 6-5, 170, sr.; Mark Seger, Fort Loramie, 6-3; 205, sr.; Brock Shellhaas, Ansonia, 5-11, 170, sr.
Punter: Will Cox, Miami Valley Christian Academy, 6-1, 196, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Mark Smith, Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy
Defensive player of the year: Max Hoying, Fort Loramie
Coach of the year: Jesse Hubbard, Hamilton New Miami

Honorable Mention
Tucker Eriksen, South Charleston Southeastern Local; Devin Swick, New Madison Tri-Village; Griffin Meyer; Fort Loramie.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login