Woods, Anderson, Commins honored in Division III Southwest District

Franklin QB Braden Woods, the 2019 OPSWA Division III Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year. (photo courtesy of Franklin athletics)

Franklin quarterback Braden Woods capped of a great career by being named the 2019 OPSWA Division III Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year. Woods amassed 1,997 yards of total offense (1,401 pass, 596 rush) and accounted for 22 touchdowns (16 pass, six rush) while throwing just two interceptions during the regular season. Franklin finished and made the playoffs for the 12th time in program history. Woods set the school record with five touchdown passes against Eaton in Week 8. He ends his career with more than 5,200 yards of total offense, 34 passing touchdowns and 11 touchdowns rushing.

Trotwood-Madison DB Sammy Anderson, the 2019 OPSWA Division III Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year. (photo by Shelby Frieszell/

Defensive Player of the Year Sammy Anderson of Trotwood-Madison was such a force teams to stay away from his side of the field. He currently has 35 total tackles for the Rams who are in the regional finals for the ninth time in the last 10 years. Anderson also has 18 receptions for 381 yards and seven touchdowns. The six-foot-two, 170-pound senior has offers from Michigan, Indiana, Cincinnati, Bowling Green, Georgia State and Pitt.

Ross finished the season above .500 for the first time since 2013 under third year head coach Kenyon Commins. The Rams wound up 8-3 and made the playoffs for the first time since ’11 under his tutelage. The turnaround gave Commins the nod as the Southwest District Coach of the Year.

Ross head coach Kenyon Commins (photo by Greg Shoemaker/

The 2019 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Division III All- Southwest District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:

First Team Offense
Backfield: Alex DeLong, Hamilton Badin, 5 feet 11, 160 pounds, senior, RB; Hezekiah Hudson-Davis, Trotwood-Madison, 5-8, 165, fr., RB; Brandon Lanier, Mount Healthy, 6-3, 240, sr., QB; Brandon McDonald, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 6-2, 223, jr., RB; Ryan Minor, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-1, 177, sr., QB; Zach Switzer, Hamilton Badin, 6-5, 190, sr., QB; Braden Woods, Franklin, 6-2, 190, sr., QB.
Receivers: Carl Blanton Jr., Trotwood-Madison, 6-3, 175, sr.; Josh Hegemann, Hamilton Badin, 5-10, 150, sr.; Donovan LaJeunesse, Dayton Carroll, 6-0, 160, sr.; Kenyon Owens, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 5-11, 183, so.; Jordan Rucker, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 5-9, 185, sr.
Linemen: Nick Back, Franklin, 6-6, 335, sr.; Caden Barr, Bellbrook, 6-4, 260, sr.; Cortez Huckleby, Cincinnati Mount Healthy, 6-2, 270, sr.; Ryan Pool, Bellefontaine, 6-4, 265, sr.; Kaden Rogers, Hamilton Ross, 6-3, 270, jr.; De’Verell Williams, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-2, 248, sr.
Kicker: Ben Sauls, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-11, 159, sr.

First Team Defense
Linemen: Jayden Carter, Hamilton Badin, 6-2, 200, jr.; Chris Custis, Wilmington, 6-4, 195, sr.; Marquel Henry, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-0, 220, sr.; Taylor Jordan, Bellbrook, 6-2, 195, jr.
Linebackers: Ben Borszcz, Bellbrook, 6-1, 207, sr.; Tyler Carlson, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-11, 186, jr.; Jack DePrie, Hamilton Ross, 6-0, 205, sr.; Mason Henry, Kettering Archbishop Alter, 6-3, 220, sr.; Diego Neri, Cincinnati Northwest, 6-4, 230, sr.; Evan Schlensker, Hamilton Badin, 6-1, 175, sr.
Secondary: Sammy Anderson, Trotwood-Madison, 6-2, 170, sr.; Jake Berning, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 5-11, 175, sr.; Gavin Casella, Vandalia Butler, 6-3, 185, sr.; Jawaan Davis, Cincinnati Hughes, 5-11, 170, sr.; CJ Hicks Jr., Kettering Archbishop Alter, 6-2, 202, so.; Aiden Kinser, Franklin, 5-10, 155, sr.; Hunter Slusher, Goshen, 5-10, 175, sr.; Jason Ward, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 5-10, 182, jr.
Punter: Rory Bell, Wilmington, 5-10, 170, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Braden Woods, Franklin
Defensive player of the year: Sammy Anderson, Trotwood-Madison
Coach of the year: Kenyon Commins, Hamilton Ross

Second Team Offense
Backfield: Cade Beam, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 6-1, 208, sr., RB; Tyler Beyke, Greenville, 6-0, 160, sr., QB; Cam Coomer, Wilmington, 6-1, 175, sr., QB; Jacob Duty, New Richmond, 5-7, 161, sr., RB; Jackson Gifford, Hamilton Ross, 5-10, 210, jr., RB; Garrett Gross, Bellefontaine, 5-10, 200, sr., RB; Jeff Henderson, Cincinnati Hughes, 5-9, 180, sr., QB;  Quincy Johnson, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 5-11, 220, sr., RB.
Receivers: Keyshawn Barber, Cincinnati Hughes, 6-2, 170, so.; John Butsch, Greenville, 6-1, 185, sr.; Marshal Flaig, Hamilton Badin, 6-1, 165, sr.; Ryan Russell, Franklin, 6-1, 170, sr.; Marcus Wood, Greenville, 5-9, 160, sr.
Linemen: Tytan Grote, Greenville, 5-11, 205, sr.; Matthew Hatton, Dayton Belmont, 5-11, 230, sr.; Eric Hendrix, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 6-6, 235, sr.; Chandler Holler, Monroe, 6-2, 205, jr.; Braden Swank, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 6-2, 276, jr.
Kicker: Bryan Thacker, Franklin, 6-2, 170, sr.

Second Team Defense
Linemen: Jason Ackerman, New Richmond, 6-2, 193, sr.; Trevor Adams, Goshen, 6-3, 225, jr.; Carter Earls, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 6-3, 195, jr.; Harry Hilvert, Cleves Taylor, 6-1, 225, so.; Izac Proctor, Franklin, 6-2, 200, jr.
Linebackers: Noah Burneka, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-1, 223, sr.; Malik Echols, Cincinnati Mount Healthy, 6-2, 275, sr.; Saleem Ford, Cincinnati Hughes, 5-10, 185, fr.; William Gentry, Dayton Belmont, 6-0, 220, sr.; Logan Harrison, Goshen, 5-10, 225, jr.; Ke’shawn Huguely, Trotwood-Madison, 5-9, 198, sr.; McAdrian Martin, Cincinnati Woodward, 5-9, 185, sr.; Mitchell Williamson, New Richmond, 5-7, 175, sr.
Secondary: De’Zion Coleman, Cincinnati Hughes, 5-10, 170, sr.; Alassane Diallo, Cincinnati Mount Healthy, 6-1, 160, sr.; Logan Miller, Middletown Bishop Fenwick, 5-10, 180, jr.; Jamar Payton, Dayton Dunbar, 6-3, 176, jr.; Casey Redemeier, Hamilton Ross, 5-10, 170, jr.
Punter: Johnny Kearns, Cleves Taylor, 5-10, 150, so.


Honorable Mention
Colt Bradshaw, Middletown Bishop Fenwick; Tavon Hardwick, Dayton Belmont; Gage Johnson, Franklin; Sean Harkness, Darius Thomas, Cincinnati Mount Healthy; Ethan Flanery, Greenville; Kegen Gormley, Hamilton Badin; Larry Jackson, Cincinnati Hughes; Jeff Valentine, Wilmington; Jacob Kidwell, Bellefontaine; Jaquan Lusbourgh, Mykion Singleton, Marcellis Thompson, Brandon Wright, Dayton Dunbar; Antwand Yett, Cincinnati Aiken.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login