Smith Named Division VII OPOY Again

CCPA QB Mark Smith (photo from

For the second time in the last three years Cincinnati College Prep Academy (8-2) quarterback Mark Smith was named the 2021 OPSWA Division VII Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year.

The senior did it all for the Lions. He threw for 1,199 yards completed 67.5% of his passes, ran for 1,011 yards, caught nine balls for 205 yards, with 11 touchdown tosses, 10 scores on the ground and five touchdowns receiving. On defense, Smith tallied 42 total tackles and had six takeaways (five INTs, one FR).

The 2021 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division VII football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district: 

First Team Offense
Backfield: Peyton Beam, Ansonia, 6-2, 200, sr., RB; Caleb Maurer, Fort Loramie, 6-0, 170, jr., QB; Ty Myers Jr., Springfield Catholic Central, 6-0, 165, so., QB; 1 Mark Smith, Cincinnati College Prep Academy, 6-2, 185, Sr., QB; Reed Wehr, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-9, 170, so., RB; Levi Wiederhold, Fayetteville-Perry, 6-3, 205, sr., QB.
Receivers: Jayden Bradshaw, Fayetteville-Perry, 6-2, 175, sr.; Logan Eilerman, Fort Loramie, 6-4, 200, jr.; Michael McFarland, Sidney Lehman, 6-2, 210, sr.; Josh Scantland, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-4, 190, sr.; Ashton Young, Springfield Catholic Central, 6-0, 180, sr.
Linemen: Zach Armbruster, De Graff Riverside, 6-2, 270, Sr.; Tytus Gasper, Ansonia, 6-1, 215, sr.; Daymeon Pennington, Hamilton New Miami, 6-1, 235, jr.; Wyatt Plush, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-9, 305, Sr., OL; Karson Tennery, Fort Loramie, 6-0, 220, sr.
Kicker: Connor Schmit, Ansonia, 6-2, 185, sr.

First Team Defense
Linemen: Seth Cook, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-2, 190, jr., DL; Tanner Fleming, Fayetteville-Perry, 6-0, 255, sr., DE; Gabe Meyer, Fort Loramie, sr., DE; Dylan Smith, De Graff Riverside, 5-9, 250, sr., DL; Jaylen Stewart, Lockland, 6-2, 235, sr., DE.
Linebackers: Nate Ciavarella, Hamilton New Miami, 5-10, 205, sr., LB; John Edwards, Sidney Lehman, 5-10, sr., LB; Jeff Ellis, Cincinnati College Preparatory Academy, 5-11, 225, sr., MLB; Calvin Hoying, Fort Loramie, jr., LB; Jadyn Thomas, Lockland, 6-1, 220, so., RB/LB; Keegen Weiss, Ansonia, 5-10, 175, so., LB.
Secondary: Jonah Asebrook, South Charleston Southeastern, 5-11, 165, so., FS; Justin Finkbine, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-3, 180, jr., DB; Deven Frilling, De Graff Riverside, 6-2, 165, sr., DB; Owen Pleiman, Fort Loramie, sr., DB; Tyler Tipis, Fayetteville-Perry, 5-8, 145, sr., DB.

Offensive player of the year: Mark Smith, Cincinnati College Prep Academy
Defensive player of the year
: Justin Finkbine, New Madison Tri-Village
Coach of the year: Robert Burk, New Madison Tri-Village

Second Team Offense
Backfield: Luke Eby, Lewisburg Tri-County North, 6-0, 190, sr., RB; Braden Keating, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-8, 160, so., QB; Cais Kingsley, West Alexandria Twin Valley South, 5-8, 155, so., RB; Malachi Levesque, Union City Mississinawa Valley, 5-10, 170, sr.; Myles Platfoot, De Graff Riverside, 6-0, 180, so., QB; Landon Rich, Troy Christian, 6-0, 215, sr., RB; Warren Shockey, De Graff Riverside, 5-8, 150, jr., RB.

Receivers: Blake Coffman, Fayetteville-Perry, 6-3, 215, sr.; Damion Kistler, Fayetteville-Perry, 6-1, 175, sr.; Whyatt Lakes, Twin Valley South, 6-2, 175, jr.; Damon Mescher, Fort Loramie, sr.; Landon Stewart, De Graff Riverside, 6-2, 175, sr.,.
Linemen: Dillan Plush, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-10, 240, jr.; Jon Shirley, Lewisburg Tri-County North, 6-3, 190, jr.; Adam Twiss, Troy Christian, 6-2, 255, sr.

Second Team Defense
Linemen: Chase Baldwin, Cedarville, 5-10, 230, so.; Conner Napier, West Alexandria Twin Valley South, 5-10, 160, sr.; Isaac Raterman, Fort Loramie, 6-2, 195, sr., DE; Trent Trobridge, Mississinawa Valley, 5-8, so.

Linebackers: Lee Burkett, Troy Christian, 6,1 200, jr.; Wade Eriksen, South Charleston Southeastern, 6-0, 180, sr.; Anthony Ibarra, Mississinawa Valley, 5-11, so.; Max Pollander, Cedarville, 6-1, 160, sr.; Austin Rismiller, New Madison Tri-Village, 6-2, 195, jr.

Secondary: Masin Bowen, Cedarville, 5-10, 150, sr.; Simon Godwin, De Graff Riverside, 5-6, 150, jr.; Tanner Printz, New Madison Tri-Village, 5-10, 165, so.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login