TSF 2016 Dayton OPOY: Ryan Montgomery

Franklin junior running back Ryan Montgomery was named the 2016 Dayton Offensive Player of the Year as TSF paid tribute to finest from Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky, Dayton and Southeast Indiana area’s high school gridiron at the Year in Review Show on Monday night at the Holy Grail, downtown Cincinnati. Montgomery was sensational as Franklin (11-1) finished the regular season undefeated in what became a historical storybook season for the program. The Wildcats faced six teams that made the playoffs and went5-1 in those affairs. Montgomery combined to run for more than 1,000 yards and 15 touchdowns in those games.

Franklin ATH Ryan Montgomery (photo by Dusty Waltz/

Franklin ATH Ryan Montgomery (photo by Dusty Waltz/

Montgomery was one-man wrecking crew, amassing 2,456 yards of total offense (521 passing, 1,935 rushing), compiling 2,920 all-purpose yards (1,935 rushing, 518 receiving, 466 return yards) while accounting for 41 touchdowns (34 rushing, four passing, two receiving, one kickoff return). Those efforts earned him Division III Second Team All-Ohio and the Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year honors.

He will head into his senior season with 4,206 yards of total offense (1,203 passing, 3,003 rushing), 2,920 all-purpose yards (3,003 rushing, 596 receiving, 649 return yards) and has accounted for 55 touchdowns (42 rushing, 10 passing, two receiving, one kickoff return) during his career. Montgomery has an offer from Toledo with more on the way.

Other finalists included six seniors – Dakota Allen (Lebanon), Danny Davis (Springfield), Hayden Kotwica (Troy), Nick Kovacs (Springboro), Josh Myers (Miamisburg), Fred Pitts V (Wayne) as well as junior Raveion Hargrove (Trotwood-Madison). This the second straight finalist nomination for Davis and Hargrove. was founded in 2005 and started its Dayton postseason awards in 2009. Here the list of winners of this award all-time:

2016 – Ryan Montgomery (Franklin)
2015 – Elijah Cunningham (Springboro)
2014 – D’Mitrik Trice (Wayne)
2013 – Bayle Wolf (Clinton-Massie)
2012 – Bayle Wolf (Clinton-Massie)
2011 – Israel Green (Trotwood-Madison)
2010 – Braxton Miller (Wayne)
2009 – Antwan Gilbert (Trotwood-Madison)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply