Kiner, Mooney, Blaut gives Roger Bacon sweep of DV awards

Roger Bacon RB Corey Kiner (photo by Dan Bieneke/

Roger Bacon running back Corey Kiner will go down as one of the most productive players the Buckeye state has ever seen. This fall, he ran for 1,866 yards, amassed 2,133 all-purpose yards and 37 touchdowns (35 rush) on his way to a second straight Southwest District Player of the Year award. Kiner, an LSU commit finishes his career with 124 career touchdowns (3rd most all-time in Ohio), 116 rushing touchdowns (3rd most all-time in Ohio), 766 points scored (3rd most all-time in Ohio) and 7,150 yards rushing (10th most all-time in Ohio).

Classmate Nijal Mooney was in on 71 total tackles, had six-and-a-half tackles for losses, four sacks, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and three pass break ups on his way to earn Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year accolades.

It was a banner year for Roger Bacon as the school won its first ever regional title. Mike Blaut was named Southwest District Coach of the Year for guiding the Spartans to its most successful season in school history.

Here is a look at the 2020 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Division V All-Southwest District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:


First Team Offense

Backfield: Carson Bey, Versailles, 5-9, 170, jr., QB; Talon Borders, Carlisle, 5-9, 155, jr., RB; Corey Kiner, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 5-10, 210, sr., RB; Drew Mitch, Springfield Shawnee, 6-3, 215, sr., QB; Brayden Sipple, Blanchester, 6-5, 175, sr, QB; Kainan Stoner, Bellefontaine Benjamin Logan, 6-1, 200, sr., RB.
Receivers: Nick Burden, West Liberty West Liberty-Salem, 6-0, 185, sr.; Kameron Cox, Springfield Greenon, 5-10, 190, sr.; Daniel Dominique, Brookville, 6-4, 200, sr.; Ryan Hallau, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-4, 225, sr.; Garrett Jostworth, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, 6-4, 220, sr.
Linemen: Alex Couch, Carlisle, 6-2, 276, jr.; Daniel Cartuyvelles, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-0, 240, sr.; Logan Evans, Lewiston Indian Lake, 5-11, 250, jr.; Cain Gonzalez, Springfield Shawnee, 6-1, 320, jr.; Taran Tyo, Versailles, 6-4, 275, jr.; Vonderhaar, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, 6-3, 250, sr.
Kicker: Nathan Hawks, Springfield Greenon, 6-1, 185, sr.

First Team Defense

Linemen: Carter Bibler, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6-3, 215, jr.; De’Tray Jones, Cincinnati North College Hill, sr.; Trevor Lockard, Brookville, 5-11, 230, sr.; Aden Neely, Bellefontaine Benjamin Logan, 6-5, 255, sr.; Max Spelder, Cincinnati Madeira, 6-3, 245, sr.; Jairon Wilson, Cincinnati Taft, 5-10, 215, sr.
Linebackers: Colt Conover, Blanchester, 5-9, 190, sr.; Daniel Flagel, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, 5-10, 180, sr.; Lane Mefford, Lewiston Indian Lake, 5-10, 185, sr.; Nijal Mooney, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 6-0, 215, sr.; Keegan Mueller, Cincinnati Hills Christian Academy, 6-3, 185, sr.; Rudy Scanlon, Springfield Shawnee, 6-0, 180, sr.
Secondary: Zach Barker, Reading, 6-2, 160, sr.; Irvin Hodrick, Cincinnati Purcell Marian, 5-9, 165, sr.; Luke Jackson, Lewiston Indian Lake, 5-11, 170, jr.; Cannon Shafer, Cincinnati Madeira, 6-0, 175, sr., Branson Smith, Sabina East Clinton, 6-1, 160, sr.; Alex Wolf, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 5-10, 175, sr.
Punter: Graham Nicholson, Summit Country Day, 6-1, 190, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Corey Kiner, St. Bernard Roger Bacon
Defensive player of the year: Nigal Mooney, St. Bernard Roger Bacon
Coach of the year: Mike Blaut, St. Bernard Roger Bacon

Second Team Offense

Backfield: Evan Davis, Springfield Greenon, 5-10, 165, sr., QB; Logan Gibson, Middletown Madison Senior, 5-8, 155, jr., RB; Andrew Glassmeyer, Cincinnati Mariemont, 6-0, 195, sr., QB; Christian Griffith, West Liberty West Liberty-Salem, 5-8, 150, jr., QB; Antone Robertson, Cincinnati Taft, 6-0, 195, sr., RB; Trevor Stewart, Springfield Greenon, 6-0, 190, jr., RB.
Receivers: Clay Hough, Springfield Greenon, 6-1, 155, jr.; Braden Kelley, Williamsburg, 5-9, 135, sr.; Bass Moore, Springfield Greenon, 6-1, 175, sr.; Brennan Riley, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6’2, 215, sr.; Jace Wade, West Liberty West Liberty-Salem, 5-10, 175, sr.
Linemen: Chasen Allison, Blanchester, 6-2, 215, so.; Zach Davis, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6-2, 295, sr.; Gabe Hemmelgarn, Bellefontaine Benjamin Logan, 6-3, 265, sr.; Jack Mileham, Cincinnati Mariemont, 6-3, 220, jr.;Drew Reder, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6-4, 290, sr.; Brandon Rettig, Lewiston Indian Lake, 5-11, 250, sr.
Kicker: Jack Hanley, Cincinnati Madeira, 6-2, 165, sr.

Second Team Defense

Linemen: Brayden Bailey, Springfield Shawnee, 5-10, 180, sr.; Caden Connor, Reading, 5-10, 180, jr.; Evan Cox, Middletown Madison Senior, 6-3, 170, sr.; Phillip Davis, Sabina East Clinton, 6-1, 230, jr.; Brady Griffiths, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6-1, 205, jr.; Evan Thomas, Springfield Shawnee, 6-1, 205, sr.
Linebackers: Gage Huston, Blanchester, 5-10, 175, sr.; Alex Kaiser, Versailles, 6-1, 180, sr.; Trent Kellerman, Williamsburg, 6-0, 155, jr.; Hayden Mattes, Batavia Clermont Northeastern, 6-0, 190, sr.; Isaiah McGill, West Liberty West Liberty-Salem, 5-11, 175, sr.; Nick Pauly, Cincinnati Summit Country Day, 6-0, 200, sr.
Secondary: Dylan Bruchs, Brookville, 5-11, 160, sr.; Mark Burns, Cincinnati Purcell Marian, 6-0, 160, sr.; Demario Griffin, Cincinnati Clark Montessori, 5-5, 145, sr.; David Hawk, Springfield Shawnee, 5-10, 165, jr.; Konnor Maloney, Middletown Madison Senior, 5-6, 140, sr.; Blake Richard, Blanchester, 6-2, 165, sr.
Punter: Evan Webb, St. Bernard Roger Bacon, 5-10, 225, sr.

Honorable Mention: J.J. Stricker, Landen Amann, Batavia Clermont Northeastern; Zach Hoover, Cincinnati Purcell Marian; James Gibson, Travis Howard, Camden Preble Shawnee; Landon Henry, Versailles; Seth Greene, Cincinnati Mariemont; Zack Stevens, Springfield Greenon.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login