Lambert, Hester, Hancock draw accolades in Division IV

Wyoming RB CJ Hester (photo by Shelby Frieszell/

Milton-Union (7-3) d-lineman Andrew Lambert created all kinds of havoc for the Bulldogs. Lambert was in on 42 total tackles with 15 tackles for losses and four sacks on his way to Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Just a sophomore, Wyoming (9-1) running back CJ Hester made quite an impact for the Cowboys. Hester racked up big numbers earning him the Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year. Offensively, Hester had 150 carries for 1,060 yards, averaged 7.1 yards per carry, 16 rushing touchdowns, eight receptions for 110 yards and three receiving touchdowns. Defensively, he had 51 total tackles (27 solo, 24 assist).

Despite losing Ohio Mr. Football (Evan Prater) and the Division IV Defensive Player of the Year (Cam O’Gara), Aaron Hancock managed to lead Wyoming to its third straight Region 16 title. For that, Hancock was honored as the Southwest District Coach of the Year.

The 2020 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Division IV All-Southwest District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:


First Team Offense

Backfield: Jake Amburgy, Waynesville, 6-0, 180, sr., QB; Brady King, St. Paris Graham, 6-2, 210, sr., QB; Ben Owens, Germantown Valley View, 6-2, 210, sr., QB; Ty Thornton, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 6-4, 180, jr., QB; CJ Hester, Cincinnati Wyoming, 5-10, 170, so., RB.; Carson Vanhoose, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 5-9, 160, jr., RB.
Receivers: Blake Brumbaugh, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-1, 155, so.; Troy Coulter, Germantown Valley View, 6-3, 210, sr.; Gauge Dunn, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 5-10, 145, jr.; Luke Hammond, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 6-3, 185, sr.; Joop Mitchell, Cincinnati Wyoming, 6-2, 180, sr.; Saa’lih Muhammed, Dayton Northridge, 6-1, 165, sr.

Linemen: Danny Denier, Waynesville, 6-0, 325, sr.; Colton Doyle, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 6-0, 215, sr.; Chris Guest, Cincinnati Wyoming, 6-1, 210, sr.; Brody Muterspaw, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 5-10, 220, sr.; Austin Ramey, Cincinnati McNicholas, 6-3, 295, sr.
Kicker: Trevor McGuinness, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 5-11, 195, sr.
First Team Defense

Linemen: Joe Emory, Springfield Northwestern, 6-2, 285, sr.; Harry Hilvert, Cleves Taylor, 6-2, 245, jr.; Andrew Lambert, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-3, 245, sr.; Carson Shafer, Eaton, 6-1, 245, sr.; Beau Thomas, Cincinnati  Wyoming, 6-1, 195, sr.
Linebackers: Seth Anderson, Springfield Kenton Ridge, 6-1, 205, sr.; Tim Artz, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-0, 216, sr.; Chase Baker, Germantown Valley View, 6-0, 200, sr.; Jared Hancock, Cincinnati Wyoming, 5-10, 195, jr.; Will Klekamp, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 6-1, 225, sr.; Luke Osborn, Waynesville, 6-1, 240, sr.; Colton Trampler, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 5-10, 215, jr.
Secondary: Seth Bloom, Waynesville, 6-2, 180, sr.; Charlie DiGennaro, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 6-3, 187, sr.; Jacob Harrison, Cincinnati Shroder, 5-11, 180, jr.; Brennan Pagan, Cincinnati Wyoming, 5-10, 185, sr.; Logan Tays, Germantown Valley View. 5-10, 180, sr.; Kavonte Turpin, Dayton Northridge, 5-9, 170, jr.
Punter: Doug Zang, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 5-10, 175, sr.

Offensive player of the year: CJ Hester, Cincinnati Wyoming
Defensive player of the year: Andrew Lambert, West Milton Milton-Union
Coach of the year: Aaron Hancock, Cincinnati Wyoming

Second Team Offense

Backfield: Clay Badylak, Cincinnati McNicholas, 6-0, 175, sr., QB; Jose Gonzalez, Cleves Taylor, 5-11, 210, sr., RB; Jason Howard, St. Paris Graham, 6-0, 175, sr., RB; Mikey Molloy, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 5-5, 190, jr., RB; Blake Neumaier, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-0, 195, jr., RB; Charlie Sumerel, Cincinnati Indian Hill.
Receivers: Zane Blaisdell, Waynesville, 5-10, 175, sr.; Wyatt Burton, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 6-3, 185, jr.; Ethan “Bubba” Carter, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 5-8, 140, jr.; Kevin English, Norwood, 6-5, 215, sr.; Luke Scaggs, Batavia, 6-1, 190, sr.; Jacob Sweigard, Cleves Taylor, 5-3, 135, sr.
Linemen: Luke Frondorf, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 6-4, 190, sr.; Ethan Molloy, Bethel Bethel-Tate, 5-10, 300, jr.; Dakota Ruby, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-2, 295, sr.; Jesse Smith, Dayton Northridge, 5-10, 215, jr.
Kicker: Luke Folke, Cincinnati Indian Hill, 5-10, 160, jr.

Second Team Defense

Linemen: Jake Brown, West Milton Milton-Union, 5-9, 225, so.; Quinterrius Jemison, Norwood, 6-1, 220, jr.; Austin McKee, St. Paris Graham, 6-4, 185, sr.; Luke Zebell, Waynesville, 6-2, 240, sr.
Linebackers: Cayden Clutter, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 5-11, 200, sr.; Norman “Bubba” Darnell Jr., Bethel Bethel-Tate, 5-10, 175, jr.; Riley Fritts, St. Paris Graham, 6-1, 170, sr.; Colten Jacobe, West Milton Milton-Union, 5-11, 181, sr.; Caleb Lamb, Waynesville, 5-10, 180, sr.; Brady Stokes, Cleves Taylor, 6-0, 210, sr.; Zack VanScoy, St. Paris Graham, 5-11, 210, jr.
Secondary: Trace Braun, St. Paris Graham, 6-0, 165, sr.; Justin Randall, West Milton Milton-Union, 6-1, 160, sr.; Kody Zantene, Clarksville Clinton-Massie, 6-3, 180, jr.
Punter: Cain Voorhees, Springfield Northwestern, 6-0, 165, sr.

Honorable Mention: Dylan Carter, Norwood; Ty Walters, Waynesville.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login