2020 TSF Dayton DPOY Finalists

Bellbrook LB Ethan Fryman (photo by Shelby Frieszell/

There are eight finalists for the 2020 TriState Football Dayton Defensive Player of the Year. The group includes six seniors and two juniors. This is the 12th year in which TSF has nominated finalsts for the Dayton DPOY. The award has gone to a player from the Greater Western Ohio Conference (GWOC) in each of the last six seasons.

Hunter Warner becomes just the seventh player to be a named a TSF Dayton DPOY finalist two years in a row. He joins an elite group that includes Trey Baker (Fairmont), Alex Reigelsperger (Wayne), Airius Moore (Beavercreek), Mike McCray (Trotwood-Madison), Darrien Howard (Chaminade Julienne) and Trey DePriest (Springfield). Howard is the only three-time TSF Dayton DPOY finalist selection (2010-’12). He was edged out for the Dayton DPOY by McCray in 2011 and ’12 and DePriest in ’10.

Here are the finalists for the 2020 TSF Dayton DPOY:

Delian Bradley (Springfield), Jr, DB – A vital cog on a defense that help fuel Springfield (8-2) to a second consecutive Division I, Region 2 championship. The Wildcats allowed just 8.0 points with three shutouts over their last six games. Bradley finished the season with 66 total tackles, a forced fumble, a fumble recovery and six interceptions on his way to being selected 2020 OPSWA Division I First Team All-Ohio, First Team All-TSF (for a second straight year) and the GWOC Defensive Player of the Year. He heads into his senior year with 182 total tackles and 17 takeaways (11 INTs, six FRs). His offers include Akron, Arizona State, Bowling Green, Buffalo, Cincinnati, Eastern Michigan, Iowa State, Kent State, Kentucky, Michigan State, Nebraska, Pitt and Toledo.

Jonathan Bruder (Centerville), Sr, LB – Tallied 77 total tackles, two sacks and had four fumble recoveries in a stellar senior season. Bruder garnered OPSWA Division I Third Team All-Ohio and Second Team All-TSF acclaim for his work. He ended his career with 252 total tackles, eight sacks, four fumble recoveries and an interception.

Jayden Carter (Badin), Sr, DE – An integral part of a Badin (7-1) defense that gave up just 10.0 points per game and never more than 20 in a contest. Carter was named 2020 OPSWA Division III Second Team All-Ohio, Third Team All-TSF and GCL Co-eds Co-Defensive Player after recording more than 40 total tackles and four sacks. He finished his career with 10.5 sacks, five takeaways (three INTs, two FRs) including three pick sixes. The Rams went 24-9 in his three seasons as a starter.

Ethan Fryman (Bellbrook), Sr, LB – Was named 2020 OPSWA Division III First Team All-Ohio, Honorable Mention All-TSF and SWBL Southwestern Defensive Player of the Year after getting in on 71 total tackles with a fumble recovery for the 8-1 Golden Eagles. Fryman was a three-time First Team All-SWBL selection at linebacker. Bellbrook was 26-4 in that span.

CJ Hicks (Alter), Jr, LB – Added some weight and moved from the secondary to linebacker where he flourished this season. Hicks finished the season with 61 total tackles, with a fumble recovery and had a pick six for a Knights team that won the Division III, Region 12 title. He also had 624 all-purpose yards and a pair of touchdowns rushing and receiving. Hicks was named 2020 OPSWA Division III First Team All-Ohio, OPSWA Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year, First Team All-TSF and GCL Co-eds Co-Defensive Player of the Year for his work. He has verbally committed to Ohio State.

Jerrell Lewis (Piqua), Sr, DE – Dominated interior play for a Piqua (7-1) defense that yielded just 8.4 points per game with three shutouts. Lewis was in on 40 total tackles with 11.5 sacks and two fumble recoveries. That effort garnered him 2020 OPSWA Division II Second Team All-Ohio, Second Team All-TSF and MVL Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Lewis finished his career with 123 total tackles 21.0 sacks, seven fumble recoveries and eight rushing touchdowns. He has signed with Fordham.

Rod Moore (Northmont), Sr, DB/WR – Was a two-way star for a Northmont (8-0) squad that went undefeated for the first time since 1980. Moore was in on 43 total tackles, had 28 reception for 440 yards and eight touchdowns. He earned 2020 OPSWA Division I First Team All-Ohio and First Team All-TSF honors at defensive back for his efforts. Moore finished with 163 total tackles, two fumble recoveries and six interceptions in a Thunderbolts uniform. He has signed with Michigan.

Hunter Warner (Fairborn), Sr, LB/RB – The centerpiece of the best Fairborn (6-1) team in ages.
Warner recorded 65 total tackles (35 solo), had two sacks, two fumble recoveries and an interception on his way to being named 2020 OPSWA Division II First Team All-Ohio and OPSWA Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year for a second straight season. Warner was also named First Team All-TSF. He also ran for 1,008 yards, had five receptions for 123 yards and 10 touchdowns (eight rush, two rec). Warner finished his career with 411 total tackles (212 solo), four sacks, seven forced fumbles, eight fumble recoveries and two interceptions. On offense, he amassed 2,792 all-purpose yards, 2,486 yards rushing with 26 (24 rush) trips to the end zone in a Skyhawks uniform.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login