Southwest District tabs Volpenhein, Oats best in Division II

There were some jaw-dropping, eye-popping, stat sheet-filling performances turned in by this district in 2017.

Anderson quarterback Jay Volpenhein led the way. The senior amassed 4,919 yards of total offense (3,809 passing, 1,110 rushing) and accounted for 52 touchdowns (35 passing, 17 rushing) earning him the 2017 Division II Southwest District offensive player of the year.

Volpenhein threw for 250 yards or more 11 times, had three or more passing touchdowns on eight occasions, accounted for five or more scores in five games, ran for at least 100 yards in seven contests with two or more scores on the ground in six of those affairs for the Redskins who finished the year at 10-2.

Winton Woods star Cris Oats is the 2017 Division II Southwest District defensive player of the year. Oats has helped the Warriors to an 11-1 record and the schools first trip to the regional finals since 2009. He has 83 total tackles, 12 tackles for losses and five takeaways (four fumble recoveries, one interception) on the year.

The senior is one of the premier linebackers in Ohio. Winton Woods head coach Andre Parker, the Southwest District coach of the year, says Oats is “the most gifted player I have ever seen.” Oats has not committed but currently has offers which include Ohio State, Oklahoma, Michigan State, Ole Miss and Cincinnati.

The 2017 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division II football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district:

Winton Woods LB Chris Oats (photo by Mitchell Cooke/

First Team Offense
: Isaiah Bowser, Sidney, 6-feet-2, 210 pounds, senior, RB/DB; Jaydon Culp-Bishop, Troy, 5-10, 168, jr., RB; Dawson Martin, Dayton Belmont, 5-11, 185, sr., RB; Kenny Mayberry, Cincinnati Winton Woods, 6-1, 215, sr., QB; Jay Volpenhein, Cin. Anderson, 6-3, 205, sr., QB; Miyan Williams, Winton Woods, 5-11, 205, so., RB.

Receivers: Kyle Blaha, Anderson, 5-10, 190, sr., RB/WR; Wyatt Fischer, Mount Orab Western Brown, 6-2, 205, sr., WR; Meechi Harris, Xenia, 6-2, 185, sr., WR; Rae’Quan Prince, Winton Woods, 5-10, 170, QB/WR/RET; Austin Watt, Anderson, 6-5, 210, sr., WR; Josh Whyle, Cin. LaSalle, 6-7, 228, sr., TE.

Turpin OL Quintin Wilson (photo by Mitchell Cooke/

Linemen: Kameron Block, Troy, 5-10, 270, sr.; Maurice Chapman, Winton Woods, 5-10, 290, sr.; Zeke Correll, Anderson, 6-4, 270, jr.; Andrew Jaeger, LaSalle, 6-2, 280, sr.; Seth Phipps, Trenton Edgewood, 6-1, 245, sr.; Quintin Wilson, Cin. Turpin, 6-3, 305, sr.

Kicker: Jake Siebert, LaSalle, 5-11, 185, so.

First Team Defense
Brandon Becraft, Fairborn, 6-2, 255, sr.; Devan Rogers, Sidney, 6-2, 315, sr.; Trent Rogers, Anderson, 6-0, 295, sr.; Joah Schricker, Troy, 6-1, 206, sr.; Austin Silcox, Harrison, 6-3, 205, jr.

Linebackers: Garrett Bledsoe, LaSalle, 6-0, 190, jr.; Albert Bradford, Belmont, 5-11, 185, sr.; Garrett Gabbard, Edgewood, 6-2, 195, sr.; Cris Oats, Winton Woods, 6-4, 220, sr.; Jimmy O’Toole, Anderson, 6-3, 203, jr.; Jarred Uran, LaSalle, 6-2, 205, jr.; John Wehrkamp, Troy, 6-0, 203, sr.

La Salle DB Sam Hildebrand (photo by Mitchell Cooke/

Secondary: Ryan Batsch, Loveland, 6-2, 185, sr.; Griffin Durso, Turpin, 5-7, 140, sr.; Ja’don Furlow, Belmont, 6-2, 180, sr.; Sam Hildebrand, LaSalle, 6-0, 200, sr.; Quinn Smith, Winton Woods, 5-10, 170, sr.; DJ Whiles, Edgewood, 5-11, 180, sr.

Punter: Drew Nieman, LaSalle, 5-10, 174, jr.

Offensive player of the year: Jay Volpenhein, Anderson
Defensive player of the year: Cris Oats, Winton Woods
Coach of the year: Andre Parker, Winton Woods

Second Team Offense
Backfield: Andre Gordon, Sidney, 6-1, 185, jr., QB; Elijah Malcolm, Belmont, 5-10, 205, sr., RB; Wade Phillips, Edgewood, 5-11, 170, jr., RB; Kermit “KJ” Redmond, Fairborn, 6-0, 195, sr., RB; Ben Scott, Harrison, 5-10, 180, sr., RB; Sincere Wells, Xenia, 6-2, 210, jr., RB; Nak’emon Williams, Kings Mills Kings, 5-10, 175, jr., RB; Frankie Young, Harrison, 6-2, 200, sr., QB.

Harrison RB Ben Scott (photo by Mike Noyes/

Receivers: Hunter Jessee, Kings, 5-11, 175, jr.; Amadaz Jones, Anderson, 6-2, 200, sr.; Spencer Klopfenstein, Troy, 6-4, 211, jr.; Jake Shirey, Morrow Little Miami, 5-10, 180, sr.; CJ Young, Harrison, 6-0, 150, so.

Linemen: Ben Blevins, Little Miami, 6-1, 245, so.; Dahzuan Richardson, Fairborn, 6-3, 310, sr.; Andrew Weaver, Edgewood, 6-2, 240, jr.; Nate Weber, Harrison, 5-10, 230, sr.; Nate Wilkins, Anderson, 6-4, 255, sr.

Kicker: Kyle Farfsing, Harrison, 6-1, 170, jr.

Second Team Defense
Linemen: Jayden McFarland, New Carlisle, Tecumseh, 6-0, 240, sr.; Christian Nation, Troy, 5-10, 247, sr.; David Tosh, Little Miami, 6-0, 240, sr.

Linebackers: Brody Ingle, LaSalle, 6-1, 210, jr.; Sebastian Lewis, Cin. Withrow, 6-0, 202, sr.; Jake Paulsen, Edgewood, 6-2, 190, sr.; Zach Rumpke, LaSalle, 6-0, 215, sr.; Shane Shoop, Troy, 5-6, 174, jr.; Hunter Warner, Fairborn, 5-10, 175, fr.; Markief White, Winton Woods, 6-1, 210, sr.; Ethan Young, Kings, 6-3, 210, sr.

Secondary: Dawson Blakely, Fairborn, 5-11, 175, sr.; Zach Boyer, Troy, 6-2, 183, sr.; Caleb Harris, Sidney, 5-10, 168, jr.; Clay Mastin, Tecumseh, 5-10, 165, sr.; Derek McDonagh, Troy, 5-8, 158, sr.; Brady Wilson, Riverside Stebbins, 5-11, 165, sr.; Justin Wise, Kings, 6-1, 190, sr.

Punter: Julian Pletz, Edgewood, 5-11, 170, sr.

Honorable Mention: Evan Brown, Elijah Williams, Edgewood; Milyke Brown, Withrow; Devin Hasty, Stebbins; Casey Lawrence, Little Miami; Cam Porter, LaSalle; Demont Rucker, Darren Taborn, Sidney; Kyle Walker, Wesley Watts, Fairborn.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login