TSF 2018 Indiana OPOY: Alex Maxwell

East Central QB Alex Maxwell. the 2018 TSF Indiana OPOY. (photo by Linda Lyness Maxwell)

A return to the state championship fell just short for East Central (11-2) fell short, the Trojans still won their fourth consecutive regional championship and 18th in the program’s history. Senior quarterback Alex Maxwell was maestro that orchestrated the Friday night show in in St. Leon and his play led to him being named the 2018 TriState Football Indiana Offensive Player of the Year as TSF paid tribute to the finest from Cincinnati, Northern Kentucky, Dayton and Southeast Indiana at its Year in Review Show on Monday night at the Holy Grail – Banks, downtown Cincinnati.

This past fall, Maxwell amassed 2,410 yards of total offense (1,164 pass, 1,244 rush) and accounted for 38 touchdowns (29 rush, nine pass). His efforts earned him IFCA Class 4A Senior All-State (QB) and EIAC 4A OPOY honors. The Trojans went a combined 46-11 in Maxwell’s four years as a starter with a state title in 2017 and a state runner-up finish in ’15. They went 18-3 in postseason games and won at last 11 games all four years. Maxwell set the East Central record for career rushing touchdowns with 68. He also ran for 3,851 yards, threw for 2,716 with 24 passing touchdowns in a Trojans uniform. was founded in 2005 and started its postseason awards for Indiana Offensive Player of the Year in 2010. Maxwell becomes the second player from East Central to win the award. Here the list of winners of this award all-time:

2018 – Alex Maxwell (East Central)
2017 – Mitchell Orschell (Franklin County)
2016 – Austin Bowling (Lawrenceburg)
2015 – Luke Patton (East Central)
2014 – Luke Patton (East Central)
2013 – Sam Fette (Lawrenceburg)
2012 – Chad Banschbach (Lawrenceburg)
2011 – Chad Banschbach (Lawrenceburg)
2010 – Connor Kelley (Batesville)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login