TSF 2020 Kentucky OPOY: Cameron Hergott

Senior quarterback Cameron Hergott was the catalyst for a Beechwood (10-2) team that won its second state title in the last three seasons and fourth in the last five years. Hergott came up clutch time- after-time, with his arm and his legs on the way to being named 2020 TriState Football Kentucky Offensive Player of the Year.

Hergott amassed 3,545 yards of total offense (2,467 pass, 1,078 rush) and accounted for 41 touchdowns (26 pass, 15 rush) as the program captured its 15th state championship. That performance earned Hergott a treasure trove of honors that also included KFCA Kentucky Mr. Football, the Class 2A, District 6 POY, First Team NKFCA All-NKY and First Team All-TSF.

Hergott, who accepted an offer to Akron as a Preferred Walk-on, finished his career at Beechwood with 6,214 yards passing, 2,376 yards rushing, 65 touchdown tosses and 34 trips to the end zone rushing. He went 12-1 as a starter in the playoffs with a Class 1A state title in 2018 as a sophomore and a Class 2A championship as a senior in ‘20.

The other Kentucky Offensive Player of the Year finalists were seniors – Caleb Jacob (Covington Catholic), Jeremiah Lee (Cooper), Kyle Guenther (Carroll County), Joey Runyon (Newport Central Catholic), Cole Wallace (Rowan County) along with juniors Pierce Rohlman (Dixie Heights) and Braxton Newborn (Ludlow). was founded in 2005 and started its postseason awards in 2007. Hergott is the first player from Beechwood to win the award.

TSF Kentucky Offensive Players of the Year
2020 – Cameron Hergott (Beechwood)
2019 – Michael Mayer (Covington Catholic)
2018 – Casey McGinness (Covington Catholic)
2017 – AJ Mayer (Covington Catholic)
2016 – Dante Hendrix (Cooper)
2015 – Dillon Powell (Simon Kenton)
2014 – Drew Moore (Dixie Heights)
2013 – Brenan Kuntz (Simon Kenton)
2012 – Blake Bir (Covington Catholic)
2011 – Patrick Towles (Highlands)
2010 – Patrick Towles (Highlands)
2009 – Miles Simpson (Simon Kenton)
2008 – Miles Simpson (Simon Kenton)
2007 – Corey Farris (Boone County)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login