Novak, Moore, Yordy tabbed as best in Division III

Badin WR/DB Braedyn Moore (photo by Shelby Frieszell/

Western Brown quarterback Drew Novak was named the OPSWA Division III Southwest District Offensive Player of the Year for a second straight season. Novak followed up his record-setting junior campaign with 4,203 yards through the air, 1,238 yards on the ground and 55 touchdowns (35 pass, 20 rush) as a senior. Novak finished his career with 14,127 yards passing, third most in Ohio history and 131 touchdown passes, tied for sixth most in Ohio history.

Braedyn Moore was a catalyst on both sides of the ball for 13-0 Badin. His presence on defense has been a major factor in the Rams giving up just 8.1 points per game with four shutouts and only one team scoring more than 17 points against them. Moore was in on 32 total tackles and had four interceptions to earn OPSWA Division III Defensive Player of the Year honors. The senior also led the GCL Co-ed with 884 yards receiving on 63 receptions while finding the end zone 18 times (15 rec, three rush). He is committed to the University of Cincinnati.

Moore’s head coach Nick Yordy gets the nod as the OPSWA Division III Coach of the year. Yordy has led Badin to back-to-back undefeated regular seasons. The Rams are 35-2 over the last three campaigns und his guidance.

The 2022 Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association Southwest All-District Division III football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district: 


First Team Offense
: Lucas Berner, New Carlisle Tecumseh, 6-0, 180, sr., RB; Timothy Carpenter, Trotwood-Madison, 6-4, 205, jr., QB; Zackery Chisman, Mount Orab Western Brown, 5-9, 170, sr., RB; Daveion Fleming, Meadowdale, 5-10, 180, sr., Elijah Jackson, Monroe, 6-0, 200, sr., RB; Drew Novak, Mount Orab Western Brown, 6-6, 210, sr., QB; Josiah Payne, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 5-8, 188, sr., RB; Alex Ritzie, Hamilton Badin, 6-2, 165, jr., QB; Armoud Seals, Woodward, 6-0, 200, jr., QB; Brock Short, Greenville, 5-8, 165, sr., RB; Tavien St. Clair, Bellefontaine, 6-4, 193, so., QB; Thad Stuckey, Wilmington, 5-10, 173, sr. RB.
Receivers: Donte Ferrell, Cincinnati Woodward, 6-2, 185, jr.; Matthew Frye, Mount Orab Western Brown, 6-2, 155, sr., Max Parker, Oakwood, 5-11, 160, sr.; Isaiah Smith, Mount Orab Western Brown, 6-1, 155, jr.; CJ Wilson, Bellefontaine, 6-2, 170, jr.
Linemen: Zeth Cowin, Wilmington, 6-5, 320, sr.; Eli Moore, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-10, 212, sr.; Tysen Rupp, Monroe, 6-0, 210, sr.; Kaleb Sherrer, Cincinnati Mt. Healthy, 5-9, 240, sr.; Ethan Teague, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-4, 290, sr.; Sam Vine, Bellbrook, 6-0, 245, sr.
Kicker: Jackson Kleather, Tipp City, Tippecanoe, 5-10, 162, sr.

First Team Defense
Linemen: Alex Aducci, New Carlisle Tecumseh, 5-8, 200, sr.; Sullivan Ashcraft, Bellefontaine, 6-1, 225, sr.; Billy Foster, New Richmond, 6-4, 260, sr.; Jackson Martin, Hamilton Badin, 6-2, 235, sr.; Tyler Murray, Franklin, 5-11, 215, sr.; Darrick Perdue, Wilmington, 5-10, 300, sr.
Linebackers: Sam Barhorst, Bellbrook, 6-0, 185, sr.; Alex Caudill, Bellefontaine, 6-1, 210, sr., Keymaurie Henderson, Trotwood-Madison, 5-10, 215, so.; Cael Liette, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-11, 176, jr.; Wyatt McPeherson, Monroe, 6-2, 195, sr.; Kaden Starks, Hamilton Badin, 6-0, 190, sr.; Mike Watson, Cincinnati Mt. Healthy, 5-11, 195, jr.
Secondary: Carson Cheek, Hamilton Badin, 5-10, 160, sr., Eldon Korber, Bellbrook, 5-10, 170, sr.; Braedyn Moore, Hamilton Badin, 6-2, 190, sr.; Jack Moore, New Richmond, 6-0, 190, sr.; Jai’mier Scott, Cincinnati Mt. Healthy, 6-1, 192, so.; Michael Smith, Trotwood-Madison, 5-11, 165, jr.
Punter: Carson Labensky, Bellbrook, 6-4, 227, sr.

Offensive player of the year: Drew Novak, Mount Orab Western Brown
Defensive player of the year: Braedyn Moore, Hamilton Badin
Coach of the year: Nick Yordy, Hamilton Badin

Second Team Offense
Backfield: Elijah Brooks, Bellbrook, 5-11, 185, sr., RB; Ryan Chapman, Dayton Carroll, 6-0, 160, sr., QB; Chris Fogan, Bellefontaine, 5-11, 170, jr., RB; Xavier Jones, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-11, 172,  jr., RB; Amare Lattimore, Dayton Thurgood Marshall STEM, 5-9, 180, jr., RB; Steve Lauterbach, Oakwood, 5-10, 160, jr., QB; AJ Metzger, New Richmond, 6-1, 185, sr., QB; Ryan Miles, Monroe, 5-10, 180, jr., QB; Rylan Monk, Franklin, 5-11, 205, sr., RB; Liam Poronsky, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-10, 178, sr., QB.
Receivers: Stanley Clyne, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 6-3, 164, sr.; Javier “JayJay” Etheridge, Cincinnati Mt. Healthy, 5-11, 180, jr.; Antonio Robinson, West Carrollton, 5-10, 170, jr., Armani Rodgers, Trotwood-Madison, 5-6, 145, fr.
Linemen: Izak Bowman, Franklin, 6-0, 235, jr.; Chris Devaughns, Dayton Meadowdale, 6-0, 270, sr.; Logan Dooley, Monroe, 6-1, 205, sr.;  Harrison Greathouse, Oakwood, 5-9, 200, jr.; Tucker Hall, Franklin, 6-3, 250, jr.; Vincent Hummel, Bellbrook, 5-11, 185, sr.; Landon Woyce, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-0, 240, sr.
Kicker: Jon Custis, Wilmington, 6-1, 170, jr.

Second Team Defense
Linemen: Levi Davidson, Franklin, 6-2, 205, sr.; Cohen Hale, Vandalia Butler, 6-1, 205, sr.; Haiden Manns, Bellefontaine, 6-2, 245, jr.; Ben Moreira, Oakwood, 6-0, 180, sr.; Fred Rogers, Vandalia Butler, 6-2, 235, sr.; Jamarcus Wyche, Trotwood-Madison, 6-4, 250, fr.
Linebackers: Reese Anzalone, Hamilton Badin, 6-0, 180, sr.; Josiah Botello, New Carlisle Tecumseh, 6-0, 195, sr.; Josh Dietz, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 6-1, 204, sr.; Tressel Gibson, Franklin, 6-0, 195, sr.; Craig McKinney, Goshen, 5-10, 185, sr.; Chase Pickard, Wilmington, 6-0, 200, sr.; Andrew Schneeman, Mount Orab Western Brown, 6-0, 175, sr.
Secondary: Jackson Berner, New Carlisle Tecumseh 6-0, 175, sr.; Payton Bey, Tipp City Tippecanoe, 5-9, 158, sr.; Jaleel Engleman Cincinnati Hughes, 5-11, 190, sr.; Austin Flohre, Vandalia Butler, 6-1, 185, jr.; Braylen Lee, Monroe, 6-1, 170, sr.; Terrence Sims, Dayton Thurgood Marshall, 6-0, 180, sr.
Punter: Jonathan Peltier, Dayton Chaminade Julienne, 6-2, 180, sr.

Honorable Mention: Caydn Denniston, Wilmington; TJ Engleman, Cincinnati Hughes, Saleem Ford, Cincinnati Hughes, Cam’ron Clark, Cincinnati Hughes; Tayven Crump, Vandalia Butler; Tyler Kilgore, Goshen; Evan Liette, Tipp City Tippecanoe; Riley Neer, Bellefontaine; Luke Kosins, Bellbrook;  Christian Hartman, Tipp Cty Tippecanoe; Damarion Hughes, Cincinnati Woodward; Joe Leonard, Cincinnati Woodward; Luke Achterman, Wilmington; Brycen Bauer-Jones, West Carrollton; Tayshawn Brown, Dayton Carroll; Brayden Isaacs, Franklin; Sam Mitchell, Vandalia Butler; Josh Snell, Wilmington; Dane Tomlin, Mount Healthy Western Brown; Malekhi Price, Cincinnati Hughes; Spencer Smith, Mount Orab, Western Brown.



You must be logged in to post a comment Login