Lawrenceburg wins Sectional title

BROOKEVILLE, Indiana – After falling behind early, the Lawrenceburg Tigers locked things down defensively and cruised to victory at Franklin County with a 49-12 effort versus the Wildcats as they grabbed the Class 3A, Sectional 31 title for a second straight season.

Just like a year ago, the Tigers reeled off 11 straight wins after losing their opener en route to becoming Sectional champs. It is the 20th overall Sectional title in school history.

Franklin County scored on the very first play of the game when Adam Kelly connected on a 86-yard pass to Jacob Schatzle.

Lawrenceburg answered quickly through when Garrett Yoon threw a 22-yard TD pass to Aiden Gilmour.

Kelly and the Wildcats came right back with another score, this time on a 1-yard QB keeper for Kelly and after another failed conversion they led 12-7. Those would be the final points Franklin County would put on the scoreboard.

The Tigers had everything rolling. They scored on all seven offensive drives in the game. The special teams converted two fake punts and the defense came away with three turnovers.

Yoon finished with 144 yards and one score rushing and three for three touchdowns and 144 yards in the win.

Up next, Lawreneceburg will play host to Southridge next week in a Class 3A Regional title matchup.

Lawrenceburg 7-21-7-14-49
Franklin County 12-0-0-0-12

F: Adam Kelly 86-yard pass to Jacob Schatzle (kick failed)
L: Garrett Yoon 22-yard pass to Aiden Gilmour (kick good)
F: Adam Kelly 1-yard run (conversion failed)
L: Garrett Yoon 7-yard run (kick good)
L: Luke Pierce 2-yard run (kick good)
L: Garrett Yoon 26-yard pass to Aiden Gilmour (kick good)
L: Luke Pierce run (kick good)
L: Garrett Yoon pass to Aiden Gilmour (kick good)
L: Garrett Yoon 10-yard pass to Brayden Roark (kick good)

RECORDS: Lawrenceburg (11-1); Franklin County (6-3)
UP NEXT: – IHSAA Class 3A, Regional Finals vs. Southridge

Check out complete scores on The Underground Sports Shop Scoreboard.

*Stay updated on high school football updates by following @TSFootball on Twitter.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login