TSF 2020 Indiana OPOY: Garrett Yoon

There aren’t many quarterbacks that run a more potent or explosive offense in the Hoosier state than Lawrenceburg (11-2) signal-caller, Garrett Yoon. After losing its 2020 opener to rival East Central the Tigers reeled off 11 straight wins (for a second straight season and third time in the last four years) and claimed the schools 20th sectional title (fourth in the last five years). Those feats saw Yoon, be named the 2020 TriState Football Indiana Offensive Player of the Year for a second straight season.

Under Yoon’s guidance the Tigers offense averaged 38.2 points per contest. Seven times in their last nine games Lawrenceburg posted 48 points or more. Yoon finished his junior campaign with 3,335 yards of total offense (2,252 pass, 1,083 rush) while accounting for 41 touchdowns (27 pass, 14 rush). The effort also garnered him IFCA Class 3A Junior All-State Team (RB) and EIAC 3A OPOY (for a second straight season) accolades.

Yoon heads into his senior year with 9,509 yards of total offense, 6,722 yards passing, 2,781 yards on the ground, 69 touchdown tosses and 38 rushing scores. was founded in 2005 and started its postseason awards for Indiana Offensive Player of the Year in 2010. In 2019, Yoon became the first sophomore to win the award. He is now the third player to win the award two years in a row.

TriState Football Indiana Offensive Players of the Year
2020 – Garrett Yoon (Lawrenceburg)
2019 – Garrett Yoon (Lawrenceburg)
2018 – Alex Maxwell (East Central)
2017 – Mitchell Orschell (Franklin County)
2016 – Austin Bowling (Lawrenceburg)
2015 – Luke Patton (East Central)
2014 – Luke Patton (East Central)
2013 – Sam Fette (Lawrenceburg)
2012 – Chad Banschbach (Lawrenceburg)
2011 – Chad Banschbach (Lawrenceburg)
2010 – Connor Kelley (Batesville)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login