Roger Bacon’s Corey Kiner named Ohio’s Mr. Football

Roger Bacon RB Corey Kiner (photo by Dan Bieneke/

Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association – News Release
For Immediate Release – Dec.10, 2020

Ohio Mr. Football
Roger Bacon’s Corey Kiner named 34th recipient of the prestigious award

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Division I All-Ohio team and the Ohio Mr. Football Award were announced Thursday by a statewide media panel. The awards were selected by members of the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

The All-Ohio teams for Divisions I through VII were announced earlier this week. More about the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association can be found at:

Roger Bacon’s Corey Kiner named Ohio’s Mr. Football
Kiner ran for 1,866 yards, averaged 13.8 yards per carry, had 37 touchdowns and amassed 2,133 all-purpose yards as Roger Bacon went 10-1 in 2020.

By Greg Shoemaker,

CINCINNATI, Ohio – On Thursday, the Ohio High School Athletic Association in coordination with the Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association announced the winner of the 34th annual Mr. Football award and the 2020 recipient is Roger Bacon senior running back Corey Kiner.

“Being named Mr. Football means the world to me,” said Kiner. “I am very honored to win this award not only for myself, but for my school. My father told me that I would do great things in high school football but I would never thought that it would amount to this.”

The LSU-commit helped lead Division V Roger Bacon to its first-ever regional championship in 2020. Kiner delivered knockout blows early and often to his opponents. Of his 35 rushing touchdowns, 28 of them came before halftime, including 18 first-quarter scores. He found the end zone once every 4.9 carries.

“Corey is a one of a kind,” said Roger Bacon head coach Mike Blaut. “He’s a once in a lifetime talent. His skill set is second to none. He is competitive, fast, quick, strong, smart, has great instincts, all the tools a running back needs.”

“Roger Bacon is my family,” said Kiner. “I knew that it would mean a lot more for me to stay here and win with my family. I knew in my heart that if we just kept pushing on, we would eventually turn things around and change the culture.”

That decision paid off. Over the last two seasons, Roger Bacon won 20 games, which are the most in a two-year period in the program’s history. It is also the first time the school has had back-to-back 10-win seasons.

“Corey’s impact on the program has been incredible,” said Blaut. “We could not have asked for a better relationship from the first day he walked on campus. With Roger Bacon being a small school, we constantly hear that athletes should not go here because they won’t get college recruited or won’t get what they deserve. Corey has destroyed all those notions and achieved everything any player would want.”

Kiner will go down as one of the most accomplished running backs to ever suit up in the Buckeye state. He was named first team All-Ohio twice, second team All-Ohio once and first team All-Southwest District four times. In 43 games, Kiner ran for more than 200 yards 18 times, including four contests of 300-plus yards. He finishes his career with 7,130 yards rushing, 10th most in Ohio history. His 116 rushing touchdowns, 125 total touchdowns and 772 points scored are all good for the third highest totals in the OHSAA record books.

Other finalists for the award included Mason Sullivan, Kirtland, 6-0/206, RB, Senior; Ian Kipp, Mentor, 6-2/215, QB, Sr.; Owen Treece, Van Wert, 5-11/190, QB, Sr.; Reid Carrico, Ironton, 6-3/235, RB/LB, Sr; Lorenzo Styles Jr., Pickerington Central, 6-1/190, WR/DB, Sr.; Peter Pedrozo, Westerville South, 5-11/180, QB, Sr.; Beau Brungard, New Middletown Springfield, 6-0/197. QB, Jr.; Davis Singleton, Byesville Meadowbrook, 6-3/200, QB, Sr.
Twitter: @tsfootball

Ohio Mr. Football Winners:
1987: Buster Howe, RB-DB-K-P, Zanesville, Ohio State
1988: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State
1989: Robert Smith, RB, Euclid, Ohio State
1990: Bobby Hoying, QB, St. Henry, Ohio State
1991: Derek Kidwell, QB-DE, Fostoria, Bowling Green
1992: Marc Edwards, RB-LB, Norwood, Notre Dame
1993: Curtis Enis, RB-LB, Mississinawa Valley, Penn State
1994: Charles Woodson, DB-RB, Fremont Ross, Michigan
1995: Andy Katzenmoyer, LB, Westerville South, Ohio State
1996: Derek Combs, RB-DB-KR, Grove City, Ohio State
1997: Tony Fisher, RB, Euclid, Notre Dame
1998: Ryan Brewer, RB, Troy, South Carolina
1999: Bam Childress, DB-WR-KR, Bedford St. Peter Chanel, Ohio State
2000: Jeff Backes, RB-DB, Upper Arlington, Northwestern
2001: Maurice Clarett, RB, Warren G. Harding, Ohio State
2002: Ben Mauk, QB, Kenton, Wake Forest/Cincinnati
2003: Ray Williams, RB, Cleveland Benedictine, West Virginia
2004: Tyrell Sutton, RB, Archbishop Hoban, Northwestern
2005: Delone Carter, RB, Copley, Syracuse
2006: Brandon Saine, RB, Piqua, Ohio State
2007: Bart Tanski, QB, Mentor, Bowling Green
2008: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron
2009: Erick Howard, RB, North Canton Hoover, Akron
2010: Akise Teague, RB-DB-KR, Youngstown Ursuline, Cincinnati
2011: Maty Mauk, QB, Kenton, Missouri/Eastern Kentucky
2012: Mitch Trubisky, QB, Mentor, North Carolina
2013: Dante Booker Jr., LB, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, Ohio State
2014: Joe Burrow, QB, Athens, Ohio State, LSU
2015: Keishaun Sims, RB-DB, Massillon Perry, Ashland
2016: Michael Warren, RB, Toledo Central Catholic, University of Cincinnati
2017: Joey Baughman, QB, Wadsworth, Virginia (Wrestling)
2018: Cade Stover, SS-RB, Lexington, Ohio State
2019: Evan Prater, QB, Wyoming, University of Cincinnati
2020: Corey Kiner, RB, Roger Bacon, Louisiana State University

You must be logged in to post a comment Login